Life with the Wallaces

Working Mothers

3 Comments

I know this was yesterday but I decided Ill do it anyway (even if Im a day late!). Kelly over at Kellys Korner is doing a link up for working mothers. I did a post a while back on being a working mother a while back at Stafford Stories and did a typical day. I also did a post even farther back over at Domestic Wannabe for a typical day (of course it was on the weekend)

For anyone new-Im a working mommy for 9 months out of the year to our little girl Morgan who is now 20 months old (born May 28, 2010). Im a high school computer teacher that teachers computer fun stuff like Web Design, Digital Photography, and Digital Video. I love my job and of course love getting to spend the summers with her. Its the perfect job that allows me to still get to spend time with her but still have adult interaction.

We also own our own business (yogurt business) so that’s what my husband does while Im at school. He does the morning shift since he usually doesnt have to be there until 9 am. Depending on the day he is usually home by 4-4:30. Morgan usually doesnt wake up until around 8 am and Im usually long gone by then. Its definitely hard some mornings to leave when she is still asleep, but it is what it is.

I usually have to get up much earlier at around 5:30 to 6:00 am to be at school by 7:30, but I’m usually home by 4 to 4:30 as well. It still allows me enough time in the afternoons to play and then head to bed.

My only tip is to do the 15 minute rule. I read it on one of the blogs and it really does work. Set the timer for 15 minutes and clean, pick up, etc. Its amazing how much you can get done in 15 minutes with a timer!

Author: Amber Wallace

High School Digital Media teacher that is married to a Digital Media Communications at a local college. We have one little girl who was born May 28, 2010 and hope to add another one soon!

3 thoughts on “Working Mothers

  1. Found you through Kelly…love the 15 minute idea!

  2. I TOTALLY need to try that 15 minute rule! Thanks for the suggestion!
    ♥ Kyna

  3. Hi from the blog hop!!

Leave a Reply

