Life with the Wallaces

Organizing closets

3 Comments

One of our big New Years resolutions was to organize our home. We keep a decently clean house but organization is majorly lacking.

I feel like if we had some organization, our household would run smoother and hopefully help to keep things clean as well. We are doing it little by little. I hope to have many more before and after pictures.

Week 1-straighten up, remove seen trash
Week 2-get rid of clothes!
Week 3-put up Morgan’s clothes (done but sorry no pictures)
Week 4-put away Morgan’s toys she no longer uses

20120124-201530.jpg

20120124-201546.jpg
Last year at the beginning of the year we turned all our hangers around. Then each time you wear them you turn the hanger around. Then at the end of the year you know which clothes you haven’t worn in an entire year.

This year we got rid of 6 {yes 6} 30 gallon black bags worth of shoes and clothes. It felt so good to get rid of stuff. I must admit I still was not able to get rid of every piece of clothing that I had not worn, but got rid of most of them. Afterwards, we had a ton of plastic hangers from getting rid of so much! I of course had to take a picture of them because it just proved how much we got rid of.

I can’t wait to finally get an organized home. I have found some amazing organizational websites that have helped to give me some inspiration as well for future projects.

Author: Amber Wallace

High School Digital Media teacher that is married to a Digital Media Communications at a local college. We have one little girl who was born May 28, 2010 and hope to add another one soon!

3 thoughts on “Organizing closets

  1. OMG, I NEED to do this…I was just looking at my closet thinking how easy it is to keep throwing things in there when it’s a mess already!
    ♥ Kyna

  2. I need to do this too, badly. But I need to get the husband on board… I keep telling him that if he doesn’t sort through his clothes, I am throwing out whatever I want! Lol, hopefully I scared him into helping.

  3. I also need this in my life — and home! Thanks for the inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

