Life with the Wallaces

What a week!

Leave a comment

Well this week was the start to new things. One including me going back to work full time, Morgan going back to school full time and well everyone having to get up a lot earlier.

I feel like this week had been a huge success for me as a teacher even if I have 5 million things on my plate complete. It never left for a moment to become bored at all.

Well Thursday right before the bell rang, Chad got the call. Daycare called and Morgan had a 102.0 fever. She seemed just fine that morning but obviously that means nothing in the world of a child. I went to pick her up and poor thing, she looked pathetic. She didnt want to play all she wanted to do was lay down. Yeah it broke mommys heart in a million little shattered pieces. No parent wants their child to be sick and fever is just no fun at all. I found out when I went to pick her up that 2 of the 9 kids in her class had the stomach bug and had been out all week with it.

I went home got her some Tylenol and called the doctor. Her fever shot up to 102.8 by the time I got home and I just knew it was something. Our pediatrician was on call and off to the doctor we went. Well it looks like Morgan got the nasty stomach bug. This is a different stomach bug then what I think of. Its the one with no throwing up at all. The symptoms seem to be runny loose poop and high fever. Yep she had both of those symptoms. The loose stools she had the day before and I just wrote it off as teething.
While we were waiting on the dose of Motrin there was a little girl across the hall and we were talking to her mom and she seemed to have the exact same thing. It must be a big bug thats going around right now. The nurse gave her a dose of Motrin and home we went. So she now had Tylenol and Motrin in her little system. I have learned that you can do Tylenol and Motrin together but you can only give Motrin every 6 hrs and Tylenol every 4 hrs.
She got a sucker which helped a little bit but fever was just wiping poor little girl out. She went to sleep soon after and by midnight we were up again with 103 fever. The fever seems to come and go. One second its down to 99, the next its up really high.

She got to stay home with daddy and her fever seemed to stay down for most of the day in the 99-100 range. We thought oh maybe this might be the end of this bug. This was the picture that daddy sent me at work that just made me smile. Of course being a mommy I was worried about my little girl but I knew she was in good hands with her da-da. I just had so much on my plate with the first week so it was better for Chad to take her for the day.

As soon as I got home her fever shot back up to 102.8. Its just unreal how the fever of this bug is working. Shoots down, then goes right back up. I gave her some Motrin and it went back down to 100-101 range. She wanted to go out and play on her favorite thing the splash table and of course just splashing in the water.
Within about an hour, my grandmother came over to see her and her fever shot back up again. All she wanted to do was snuggle and get lots of kisses.
After my grandmother left, she just wanted to go to sleep so mommy can always handle lots of hugs but just dont like the reason. Then the scary part was her fever shot up to 104. Sponge bath time it became quickly. She already had her doses of Tylenol and Motrin so we couldnt give her any medicine. Her fever is down in the 101 range now and she has been out for a little while.

We were planning on taking her to the circus thats in town tomorrow but due to one sick little girl we will be staying home instead. Hopefully this fever will go away for good soon!

Today is my little brothers birthday who is 24! Tomorrow is my dadys birthday and I wont reveal his age:) Yes they are one day apart.

 

Author: Amber Wallace

High School Digital Media teacher that is married to a Digital Media Communications at a local college. We have one little girl who was born May 28, 2010 and hope to add another one soon!

Leave a Reply

