Life with the Wallaces

>Braxton Hicks

4 Comments

>Well it seems like I have experienced my first Braxton Hicks contraction today…i think
For those that have experienced one before or knows what it was–it was a very tightness in my lower pelvis didnt really hurt just a weird/wondered what the heck was going on feeling.

Seems as though its a normal thing to have starting at around 28 weeks but of course Im only 22 weeks.

I did try to call the doctor after I spoke with another mom and she recommended me call the doctor just to make sure since it was so early. I called and when the nurse called back I was in a staff meeting and then tried to call back later on after i got out and the phones had gone to voicemail.

As much as I read up on dr. goo.gle it seemed like it was no big deal and it happens to pg women all the time. If you think its something else I really would love to hear it because Im really just learning all this stuff. Also if you have had a BH contraction at what week was it that you started experiencing them?

Author: Amber Wallace

High School Digital Media teacher that is married to a Digital Media Communications at a local college. We have one little girl who was born May 28, 2010 and hope to add another one soon!

4 thoughts on “>Braxton Hicks

  1. >Hey Amber, I believe mine started around that time too, I just didn't know what they were at the time. I've read up & they aren't anything to worry about. Very normal. Sorry you aren't getting sleep either. I hate to admit it, but it doesn't get any better. Sorry : /

  2. >I don't remember when I started having them with my first PG, but I know it was late – like around 33-34 weeks. One thing that can make them worse is if you are dehydrated. So make sure that you are drinking enough water.

  3. >Drink plenty of water… but yeah, mine started that early randomly and they're nothing to worry about as long as they're not painful and not regular.-Andrea

  4. >I've been having those since I was 17 weeks. I get them more frequently as I get further along. With the amount of water I drink I know it isn't dehydration for me but for some it is. I also heard that if they get bad you can take a warm bath and that sometimes helps. What I was told is that it's just your body getting ready for the big even and that oftentimes women who experience a lot of BH's have an easier labor than those who don't. Don't hold me to that though. I'm a first timer like you. But I sure hope it's true!

Leave a Reply

